New Year New Start

I started last year saving well and blogging regularly about how I was getting on and ways to save and earn money. Unfortunately as the year progressed although my saving was still on track I lost sight of the blogging element.

So, after a month to reset, the saving is back on course and blogging has started.

As last year I managed to save so well for Christmas (£100 worth of alcohol, £400 worth of food, computer consoles, board games, scooters, all paid for with my savings) I’m trying two things this year.

  1. Save for Christmas
  2. Pay off debts

Christmas saving will pretty much be the same as last year. I want £150 minimum in vouchers, £500 for food and alcohol. Paying off my debts will be harder.

In my youth, before the recession, when banks threw money at you from the moment you turned 18, I embraced it. Credit cards, loans, overdraft, store cards, I had them all. And when I was struggling to pay the banks simply upped my limit or gave me another loan to pay a card off. Now I’m not blaming the banks, I am at fault but there has to be some sort of responsible lending issues going on to.

Now I have been with a debt management company for some time, slowly paying off my debts. I could have gone down the route of bankruptcy and all of my debts would be forgotten by now but this was my mess and I was responsible for fixing it.

I have paid of a number of debts over the years but I still have some to go. So, with this in mind, I am utilising websites such as eBay and TopCashBack to earn money to pay these debts.

I’ll blog again and go into more detail with regards to the debts but I am currently looking at getting an £86 debt paid as soon as possible. A lot of people will think £86 is not much and why don’t I just get it paid, but its not that easy when you budget your monthly pay pretty much down to the pound. I have already saved to pay this debt and earned a bit more. The original plan was to have it paid by April 1st but I am now planning to have it paid by February 28th.

£68 has been earmarked for this debt so far so less than £20 to go. I have things selling on eBay so there is even the possibility of paying this debt before the 28th if things sell well.

A quick rundown of my Christmas savings too are:

  01/02/2017
Asda £40.00
Park £40.00
Boots £16.16
Nectar £23.29
Morrisons £8.00

I’m pleased with this start.

My items I’m selling on eBay can be found here.

A new blog will be coming soon! I promise!

Leave a Reply

