Ultra cheap tomato soup recipe

OK, so I thought I would try something a bit different today.

One big expense that I have cut out this year is the work lunch. I was basically too pre-occupied in a morning to think about what I would eat for lunch so would often end up at the local sandwich shop for my favourite bacon, brie and lettuce baguette. Yes, it was yummy, but once I had added the afternoon snack I was spending over £4 a day. That’s around £80 a month! Ridiculous! So I now take my lunch with me. I mainly have leftovers which I love, or take a couple of eggs and bread for scrambled egg and toast.

One thing I love though is homemade soup. It’s just so easy to make and cheap too. I make it in bulk so I only have to cook for work lunches once a week.

One of my favourites is a simple tomato and chilli soup. I make four servings and it costs me about £1.40 in total! It’s thick too so I don’t have to have bread with it, the soup itself is enough to fill me up.

So here is the recipe for my super cheap super nice tomato soup (prices are from Asda)

Ingredients:

Three carrots – 9p each
One Onion – 8p
Two vegetable stock cubes – 4p each
1.5 litres of water
1kg passata – (a box from Asda is 500g for 39p!)
Dash of Olive Oil – 5p
Teaspoon of sugar – 8p
Optional:
Crushed chillies – 5p
Handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped – 15p

Method:

  1. Roughly chop the carrots and onion
  2. Add a dash of olive oil to a large pan and add the carrots and onion
  3. Fry for a couple of minutes and keep stirring to avoid burning
  4. Boil the kettle and add 1.5 litres of water and two vegetable stock cubes to the pan
  5. Add both boxes of passata
  6. Bring to the boil and then lower the heat to simmer for around 30 minutes or until the carrots are soft and the liquid has reduced down by about a 5th (on my pan its an inch below where the liquid started)
  7. Remove from the heat and start blitzing with your hand blender
  8. Add a teaspoon of sugar and the a sprinkle of crushed chillies if using
  9. Keep blitzing until there are no lumps of carrot left
  10. Add the chopped basil leaves if required and stir through
  11. Split the soup between 4 soup containers

And that’s it! When the soup has cooled you can freeze it for another day or refrigerate if eating within two days.

The soup containers I use are from my local pound shop and the cheapest hand blender I have found is at Wilko for £4.75!

cups

My bargain soup cups! unfortunately I don’t have a picture of my tomato soup because I ate it all!

I would love to hear your reviews on the recipe.

Follow me on Twitter @moneysavemum

Leave a Reply

