Tackling debts

I mentioned a few posts ago that my main aim this year is to get rid of my debts. I’ve been sitting on these debts for years, slowly plodding along and paying the minimum each month. It’s easy that way and I don’t really have to think about them. But one day I want my own house (the biggest debt I will ever have!) and to get that I have to get rid of my debts. 

At the beginning of the year I found out how much I owe in total. It was scary! Over £5000 in debts! And nothing really to show for them. 

I know people say get rid of the biggest debt first but that would mean I wouldn’t see any movement for at least six months. So I looked at the debt with the least left. £86. That’s achievable. So I set out to have it paid off by February 28th. 

To make the money I need I used TopCashBack; I enjoy shopping online but I enjoy getting cashback more! £25 of savings and eBay. I made enough money even after postage and fees to pay this first debt by 13th February. Two weeks early! I was so happy and it confirmed that I could do this. 

My next debt is due to be paid on 28th May and by then it will be £179. I have started collecting sales from eBay again and I have some more cashback I can use. As this is more money than the last one I have decided to pay it off little and often to make sure that I don’t spend the money elsewhere and stay motivated. Today I paid £10 so now it will be £169 by 28th May. Another £14 should be paid in the next few days too when it reaches my account. 

The overall plan is to reduce my debt by 50% this year without having to compromise. 

And I’m going to do it. 


Follow me on Twitter @moneysavemum

2 thoughts on “Tackling debts

Leave a Reply

